“Science is Fun” Guest Artist on PBS

I was very honored to appear as guest artist on the 44th annual show Once Upon a Christmas Cheery in the Lab of Shakhashiri 2013 which was broadcasted on WPT, The Wisconsin Channel, and other PBS channels throughout the U.S!

This annual show, presented by Wisconsin Initiative for Science Literacy, is organized by UW Prof. Bassam Shakhashiri of Science is Fun and UW Prof. Rodney Schreiner. It took place three times on November 31st and December 1st, 2013 in the Department of Chemistry Building. Other Professors included UW-Madison Prof. Jim Maynard and UW-Stevens Point Prof. C. Marvin Lang. The show was taped by the Wisconsin Public Television and aired a few times during the holiday season.

I had the extraordinary experience of performing in front of cameras and great audiences as well as working with renowned professors. Though the cameras pointing at me from different angles was a bit intimidating, it was A LOT of fun to perform in a unique situation far from the traditional concert setting. When will I ever get to march onto stage playing Carmen’s “Aragonaise” and present chemistry experiments to an exciting crowd of little scientists! Plus I got to wear a shirt that says “SCIENCE IS FUN.”

I performed my solo arrangement of Bourne’s Carmen Fantasy (Aha! an arrangement of an arrangement) and the William Tell Overture excerpt with Professor Emeritus Marc Fink on english horn. In addition, I presented an experiment “I’ve been working on in the lab” which consisted of mixing six solutions to create different colors (Disclaimer: I have never taken a science course at UW nor been inside a laboratory). My roommates had to deal with some post-it notes in the bathroom since that was my only way to memorize scientific names: “This blue solution is hydrochloric acid! I’m going to mix it with nickel sulfate and let’s see what happens! This green solution…dimethylglyoxime…potassium iodide.” On the bright side, they didn’t have to hear me sing in the shower for a whole week, lucky them!

Prof. Marc Fink, Prof. Rodney Schreiner, and Prof. Bassam Shakhashiri
Prof. Marc Fink, Prof. Rodney Schreiner, and Prof. Bassam Shakhashiri
"Prof. Marc Fink and Hinano visit the lab for a musical interlude" (www.scifun.org)
“Prof. Marc Fink and Hinano visit the lab for a musical interlude” (www.scifun.org)

xmas-web-art-2013

